GStar Championships

Sheffield Diving competed in the immensely competitive G-Star diving competition, held in Leeds. This event the event included divers from around the world from the USA, UAE and Ireland. Over the 3 days Sheffield Diving has 23 competitors, including our Olympic diver, Freddie Woodward. A total of 15 medals were won at the championships, 2 gold, 4 silver and 9 bronzes. Ross Haslam followed up on his success from National Cup by claimed 2 bronze medals in the Men’s A+ 1m and 3m. Jenna Davison had a fantastic start to her weekend by claimed gold in the Girl’s D 1m Final. Jenna then went on to claim a 2nd place on 5m and 4th on 3m. In the same event, Maisie Bond completed a hatrick of medals winning bronze on all 3 boards. Sheffield Diving dominated the Girl’s A 1m Final with 4 out of 6 competitors representing COSDC. Millie Haffety lead the pack claiming 2nd with Yasmin, Sarah and Fern following behind. Girls A 3m Millie Fowler claimed 2nd place with a superb forward 2.5 somersaults 1 twist. Our world medallist, Owen Harrison claimed 3rd place in a scintillating Men’s A Platform Final with the top 3 divers all scoring 8’s, 8.5’s and some 9’s. Jessica Vega showed some great form getting into the final of Girl’s B 1m and went on to win bronze. Oscar Willcox followed up from his first age group competition, NER, with 3 great performances. Oscar was the only boy to make all 3 finals, in his 2nd age group competition. Richelle showed her class by being crowed the champion of Girl’s C 3m and easily securing finals on 3m and Platform. The grittiest performance came of Jack Burrows, in his prelim he was awards 1.5s and scored of total of 8.80 points on his inward 1.5 somersaults. Jack secured a final in 6th place by 0.65 and went on to win bronze medal in the final. Other notable performances came from Freddie Woodward, Theo Wellington, Raffael Benitez, Harrison Case, Harrison Hartley, Callum Bell, Oliver Hoban, Bron Jenkinson, Conrad Lewandowski, Elliot Beeden, Finlay Morris, Adam Charity, Francis Curtis, Joseph Pashley, Elliot Johnson, Isaac Trueman-Marsden, Noah Prasanto, Declan Rogan, Arthur Turner-Rowe, James White, Millie Fairhurst-Marshall, Molly Bulmer, Holly May Prasanto, Georgia Davenport, Tia McGarry, Martha Clarke, Millie-Rose Hartley, Charis Bell, Sephora Ford, Daisy Folwer, Katie Garner, Poppy Bond, Amelia Scott and Lily Godbole