GStar Diving Competition, Leeds, 2019

A large squad of 47 divers represented Sheffield Diving at the GStar competition in Leeds.  Stretching over 3½ days of events and including teams from as far afield as Ireland and Dubai, Sheffield’s dominance was rewarded by being announced the Top Team as a result of winning a total of 36 medals, of which 15 were gold.

Day One began with the synchro events, in which Sheffield won three out of the four gold medals available.  Jordan Houlden, partnered by Anthony Harding of Leeds Diving Club, won the Male 3m Synchro, with Oscar Willcox, diving with Lachlan Stark of Edinburgh Diving Club, taking the bronze medal.  In the Female 3m Synchro event, Grace Ally and Jessica Vega took gold whilst Maisie Bond and her partner from Dive London, Hannah Newbrook, won the bronze medal.  Bond and Newbrook went on to win gold in the Female Platform Synchro event, sealing a very successful first day of competing for Team Sheffield.

The second day saw eleven more medals in the bag for the squad.  The platform divers had great success, with Jack Burrows taking gold and Theo Wellington bronze in the C Boys Platform, Etta Dodsworth winning gold and Lucy Maltby bronze in the D Girls Platform and Elliott Dillon taking gold and Harrison Hartley silver in the B Boys Platform event.  Jenna Davison and Maisie Bond won gold and silver respectively in the C Girls 3m springboard event – both girls having beaten their Personal Bests to reach the finals – with Jordan Houlden bringing in another gold in the A+ Boys 1m springboard competition.  Finally, in the A+ Girls 1m springboard event, the silver was won by Holly May Prasanto and the bronze by Yasmin Harper, both of whom also achieved new PBs to reach the finals.

Ten more medals were added to the tally on the third day of competition.  Archie Biggins took bronze in the D Boys Platform and, in the D Girls Platform, Etta Dodsworth won her second gold of the meet and Lucy Maltby her second bronze.  Achieving a new PB to get into the final, another bronze was won by Hannah Blake in the C Girls 1m event while gold went to Harrison Hartley in the B Boys 3m competition.  Bronze and a new PB also went to Richelle Houlden in the B Girls 1m event and Sheffield’s third gold of the day was claimed by Jack Burrows – his second gold of the meet and also reaching the final with a new PB – in the C Boys 3m.  Yasmin Harper won silver in the A+ Girls 3m and the day was rounded off with a silver taken by Joseph Pashley and a bronze by Owen Harrison in the A+ Boys Platform event.

The final day saw a further ten medals being added to the haul.  Sheffield swept the podium in the D Girls 1m event, with Etta Dodsworth winning her third gold, Lucy Maltby taking silver and Hannah Gowan the bronze.  The C Girls Platform saw a top two for Sheffield, with Maisie Bond and Jenna Davison both scoring new PBs to get to the finals.  Bond took gold – her second gold and fourth medal of the meet – with Davison’s silver being her second medal of the meet.  Further golds came through Theo Wellington, with a new PB, in the C Boys 1m and from Amelia Scott in the B Girls Platform with a blistering final performance that saw her greatly improve on her fourth place in the preliminaries.  In the A+ Girls Platform event, silver was won by Tia McGarry, whilst in the A+ Boys 3m competition Jordan Houlden took silver – with the help of a fantastic Back 3½ somersaults tucked that scored 91.80 – while Jack Haslam won the bronze.

It was another hugely successful event for Sheffield Diving, with a total of 15 Gold medals, 9 Silver and 12 Bronze.  26 new PBs were recorded in the preliminary contests and all divers in the squad deserve recognition for their efforts, including Lewis Neilson, Sophie Lewis, Chloe Strutt, Declan Rogan, Gabrielle Vickers, Rebecca Vega, Oliver Hoban, Isaac Trueman-Marsden, Adam Charity, Frankie Curtis, Millie Rose Hartley, Sophie Mae Hancox, Jessica Ireland, Nathaniel Greig, Poppy Bond, Eleanor Turner, Alice Prescott, Katie Garner, Ned Curtis, Sephora Ford, Owen Harrison, Lucy Hawkins and Charis Bell.