North East Regionals Leg 1

Superb performances from a strong squad saw Sheffield Diving return from Leg 1 of the North East Counties Diving Championships in Leeds with a haul of 18 medals. In two events, Sheffield achieved a clean sweep of the medals. Millie Haffety was the gold medallist in the women’s 1 metre springboard competition with synchro partner Millie Fowler taking silver and Fern Hitchen a superb bronze .The other medal shut-out was in the mens platform event with Elliot Beeden producing a dominant performance winning gold by over 70 points. Owen Harrison took the silver medal with Conrad Lewandowski taking bronze. In the women’s open platform competition, Georgia Davenport won the gold medal while Tia McGarry, diving a new list, produced a fine performance to take bronze .Also on platform, Sephora Ford won the 14/15 years competition by over 30 points with Millie Hartley taking the bronze medal. Maisie Bond continued the girls’ gold rush by winning the 10/11 years 3 metre springboard event with Jenna Davison winning silver. In the same age group for boys, Jack Burrows won Sheffield’s final gold medal on the 3 metre springboard with Theo Wellington winning silver. In his return to competitive action following the Olympics, Freddie Woodward was beaten into second place by fellow Olympian from Leeds and Jamaica, Yona Knight Wisdom in the mens 1 metre springboard competition. Bron Jenkinson was also a silver medallist in the 16/18 years 1 metre springboard event while Elliot Johnson won the silver medal in the 14/15 years platform competition. Declan Rogan completed Sheffield’s medal haul by taking the bronze medal in the 12/13 years 3 metre spingboard event. Very good performances were also recorded by Sarah Leach, Channein Lancaster, Richelle Houldein, Jessica Vega, Lydia Campbell, Charis Bell, Amelia Scott, Lily Godbole, Daisy Fowler, Ross Haslam, Raffael Benitez, Oliver Hoban, Harrison Case, Joseph Pashley, Isaac Trueman-Marsden, Francis Curtis, Adam Charity, Harrison Hartley, Callum Bell, Finlay Morris, Noah Prasanto, Arthur Turner-Rowe, James White, Nathaniel Greig and Oscar Wilcox.